Electrical Regulations by State - Texas

flag-texas.png

CODE

The 2008 NEC (implemented September 1st, 2008) will be the effective "minimum standard" for all electrical installations in Texas that is covered by the Act. In addition, all examinations for state electrical licenses offered on or after that date will be based on the 2008 NEC.

ENFORCEMENT

Contractors must have a Texas State Electrical License to perform electrical installations.

LICENSING

Statewide licensing regulated by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulations.

Electrical Contractor

be a licensed master electrician or employ one.

Master Electrician

12,000 hours of on-the-job training under the supervision of a master electrician. Held a journeyman electrician license for at least two years. Passed the master electrician examination within the last two years.

Master Sign Electrician

be a licensed master electrician or employ one.

Journeyman Electrician

8000 hours of on the job training under the direct supervision of a master electrician and pass examination.

Journeyman Sign Electrician

8000 hours of on the job training under the direct supervision of a master electrician and pass examination.

Residential Wireman

12,000 hours of on-the-job training under the supervision of a master electrician. Held a journeyman electrician license for at least two years. Passed the master electrician examination within the last two years.

Maintenance Electrician

8,000 hours of on-the-job training under the supervision of a master or maintenance electrician. Passed the maintenance electrician examination within the last two years.

Electrical Sign Contractor

Maintain the minimum general liability insurance coverage. The insurance must: Be at least $300,000 per occurrence (combined for property damage and bodily injury); be at least $600,000 aggregate (total amount the policy will pay for the property damage and bodily injury coverage); be at least $300,000 aggregate for products and complete operations.

Apprentice

be at least 16 years old. Assist in installation of electrical work under the supervision of a master electrician.

Electric Sign Apprentice

be at least 16 years old. Assist in installation of electrical work under the supervision of a master Electric Sign Electrician.

FeesLicenseRenewal
Electrical Contractor $115.00 $115.00/yr
Master Electrician $50.00 $50.00/yr
Master Sign Electrician $50.00 $50.00/yr
Journeyman Electrician $35.00 $35.00/yr
Journeyman Sign Electrician $35.00 $35.00/yr
Residential Wireman $25.00 $25.00/yr
Maintenance Electrician $25.00 $25.00/yr
Electrical Sign Contractor $115.00 $115.00/yr
Electrical Apprentice $20.00 $20.00/yr
Electrical Sign Apprentice $20.00 $20.00/yr

RECIPROCITY

Louisiana (master electricians only).

CONTACT

TDLR Regional Offices:

  • Texas Department of Licensing and Regulations - Fort Worth
  • 1501 Circle Drive, Suite 215
  • Ft. Worth, TX 76119
  • (817) 321-8350
  • (817) 321-8365 fax