Electrical Regulations by State - Utah

flag-utah.png

CODE

Installations must conform to the latest edition of the National Electrical Code.

ENFORCEMENT

No statewide electrical inspection. Some local jurisdictions conduct electrical inspections.

LICENSING

All contractors and electricians must be licensed by the Department of Commerce. Types of licenses and qualifications for each are:

Electrical Contractor

Electrical contractors are required to employ a master electrician, must pass a written examination to demonstrate management ability and knowledge of business law, and must product a financial statement. Amount of bidding may be restricted by assets and financial responsibility.

Master Electrician

Applicants must have eight years experience which may include four years of recognized apprenticeship, or a degree in electrical engineering and one year practical experience, and pass a written and practical examination.

Journeyman Electrician

Applicant must have four years experience as a registered apprentice or six years of practical experience, and must pass a written and practical examination.

Apprentice Electrician

Applicant electricians must register with the Department of Commerce. No examination required. Registration with the Bureau of Apprenticeship and Training is optional.

FeesApplicationExaminationRenewal*
Electrical Contractor $200.00 $100.00 $100.00/2yr
Master Electrician $100.00 $105.00 $50.00/2yr
Journeyman Electrician $50.00 $105.00 $50.00/2yr
Apprentice $100.00 N/A $50.00/2yr

*Renewal takes place in even-numbered years.

RECIPROCITY

Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Idaho, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Washington, and Wyoming.

For Master Electrician: Idaho, Oregon, or Wyoming

For Journeyman Electrician: Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, or Wyoming

CONTINUING EDUCATION

An Electrician Licensee is obligated to complete sixteen hours of continuing education each licensing period. Twelve hours must be "core" education and the remaining four can be "core" or "professional" related. See Rule R156-55b-304 for details.

Beginning December 01, 2010, all courses must be approved by DOPL to be acceptable.

Electricians may view a list of courses that have been approved by DOPL at http://www.utah.gov/ce-public

CONTACT