Electrical Regulations by State - Tennessee



Installations must conform to State Fire Marshall Regulation No.15, which incorporates the latest edition of the National Electrical Code. Local jurisdictions may adopt more stringent requirements.


State Fire Marshal is empowered to require inspection of any electrical installation. Metropolitan areas have code departments for licensing, permitting, and inspection. Rural areas use the State Department of Insurance for permitting, and state inspectors for inspection.


The Board for Licensing Contractors requires an electrical contractor’s license for any project exceeding $25,000 which must be obtained prior to offering to engage, bid or contract. A Limited Licensed Electrician’s License (LLE) is required for electrical projects less than $25,000, except where counties have their own licensing and inspections.


Applicants are required to pass the business law and electrical contractor (CE) exam with a minimum score of 70%. In addition, submit their completed application listing their equipment, experience and reference, with a financial statement prepared by CPA/LPA with a reviewed or audited opinion. Subsidiaries must submit their parent company financial with a Guaranty Agreement. License limits are based 10% lesser of the applications working capital and net worth.


Applicants are required to submit their application and pass the LLE examination. Contractors holding a Tennessee electrical contractor’s license are exempt from the LLE license.

Contractors $150.00 $45.00 $200.00/2yr
Electricians $50.00 $45.00 $50.00/2yr


Alabama, Arkansas, Louisiana, and Michigan.

  • Department of Commerce & Insurance
  • State Fire Marshal
  • 500 James Robertson Parkway
  • Nashville, TN 37243-1150
  • (615) 741-2981
  • (615) 741-1583 fax
  • www.state.tn.ys/commerce/fpdiv